Michigan Short Track Racing Club: mts sprints results winston speedway - Michigan Short Track Racing Club

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

mts sprints results winston speedway

#1 User is offline   '00' Joe Icon

  • Track champion
  • Icon
  • Group: PR Members
  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: 24-July 07

Posted 23 July 2013 - 09:11 AM

Joe Bares Picks Up His Second MTS Feature in As Many Weeks

By Trevor Hollis

Despite the weeklong threat of weather, the Lane Automotive Michigan Traditional Sprint series was able to get a full show in and Joe Bares was able to hold off a solid field to pick up his second feature win of the season at the Winston Speedway on Friday night. Joe would start on the front row and lead every lap to just edge out Steve Irwin in the 25 lap feature event sponsored by Northwest Auto Machine. In a caution free race Bares put his car right to the bottom of the speedway and made Irwin do all the work up against the cushion. Irwin would make a couple of early attempts to take the top spot but would be denied the lead by Bares. Ultimately lap traffic would come into play and Irwin would be able to do no more than watch as the Holzinger Family Farms Altron Automation number 19 of Joe Bares would pick up the checkered flag.

In heat action points championship contender and defending series champion Joe Irwin would start on the front row and dominate cruising to a victory in the Strpko Engineering first heat, While Steve Irwin would make it a family sweep in the heats winning the Hoosier Race Tire second heat.

The Lane Automotive Michigan Traditional sprint series will next be in action at the Merrit Speedway on Saturday July 27th with gates opening at 4:00pm and race time at 7:30. Check out www.mtsprints.com for a full schedule and all of your MTS needs.

Finishing order. 1. Joe bares. 2. Steve Irwin. 3. Mike Austrauskus. 4. Nate Bostrom. 5. John Watson. 6. Joey Irwin. 7. Don Smith. 8. Mark Irwin. 9. Dustin Shriver. 10. Phil Rutlidge. 11. Mark Strpko. 12. Kevin Hawk. 13. Don Bostrom. 14. Gary Hayward. 15. Lucas Smith.

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users